Top 5: 2017 Golden Globes

I know, I know this post comes a bit late, but hey, better later than never! Award season has started. Back when I was living in London, as a fashion assistant to a celebrity stylist, I particularly remember this time of the year as one of the most hectic, nail-biting moments of them all. Now that I am on the other side of the lens, it all seems easier, more effortless, and definitely more glamorous. So with the tranquility of one who is only a spectator, but with the eye of one who is aware of what happens behind closed curtains, here are my top 5 looks from this year’s Golden Globes.

Let’s begin with Emily Ratajkowski. This Reem Acra look was perfection. The colour, the hair, the Hollywood glam, it was a flawlessly concocted attire. I am always searching for that one outfit that harmonizes sexiness and elegance, and to me, this was it. Allow me to say that it was Gold!

-2037597-1483918354.640x0c

Closely behind, Blake Lively made a grand appearance in a sublime Versace gown. Although, I would have preferred to lose the matching cuffs, she looked undeniably fabulous.

-2037774-1483926884.640x0c

I should probably keep this to myself, but I am not a big fan of Vera Wang. Nevertheless, I always acknowledge when someone has done right, and oh did she do right this time! Hailee Steinfeld looked positively ravishing in this lavender tulle dream of a gown. Points for keeping it simple on the accessories, and sleek on hair and make up.

-2037760-1483926252.640x0c

Lustrous simplicity reigned the night in the beauty department, and Jessica Biel strummed its chords impeccably. With a similar hairdo as Steinfeld, Biel left a completely different impression. Where Hailee reached a romantic, daydreamy look, Biel hit a sexier, more audacious note, pushing the game of fashion a little bit further in her Elie Saab gown.

-2037690-1483922597.640x0c

Not enough recognition has been given to Thandie Newton, who’s Monse dress was a fascinating, chic mirage. The fiery hem gave the, otherwise simple, gown a vibrant appeal. Accentuating her collarbone with the necklace was a brilliant decision, swap the long earrings for a pair of studs and you have an impeccably garnished look.

-2037694-1483922597.640x0c

Leave a Reply

