Mamma mia!

First of all, Happy Mothers’ Day! I know today is not that special day were we gather together, make cheesy letters, and eat something nice and decent. But honestly, I think mothers deserve more than one of the 365 days of the year, and I think I’m not too late to say this.

My brother always tells me: “You are just like mom!” And as I grow up, I sometimes do feel a lot like her and I find myself thinking WOW! Did I just did or said that? There is a song that I love that goes: “Mamma, thank you for who I am, thank you for all the things I’m not”. It is true. Many people would agree with me when I say that they are who they are and where they are at, all thanks to their mother.

Every day, when I open my messy closet and can’t find a clean shirt, or when I open my fridge and there is just a slice of bread,  I wish I could thank her for all the years she cooked for me, washed my clothes, and all of the other things that she did for me.

You know, mothers have written books, have gone to the Olympics, have studied big and important careers like medicine. I know many mothers do this as a profession, but I’m talking about super genious people who achieved amazing goals by getting home after a hard day of work, and had a lovely supper ready. Or those atheletes who needed a drive not just for them, but for the whole team. Or those students, who studied for hours at home with friends and needed energy and most of it, food.

So, don’t wait ’till next year to say how much you love her. Even if you live far away, you can always get in touch. Call her,  write to her, snapchat her (mothers love pictures of their babies). Mothers rock!

Primero que nada, ¡Feliz Día de la Madre! Ya sé que hoy no es el día especial que nos unimos, hacemos cartitas cursis o comemos algo decente. Pero sinceramente creo que las mamás se merecen más que uno de los 365 días del año, y creo que no estoy tarde para decirlo.

Mi hermano siempre me decía: ¡Sos igual a mi mamá! Y yo pensaba, bueno quizás. Pero a medida voy creciendo hay momentos que pienso: ¿en serio yo hice eso? Me siento muy parcida a mi mamá. Me encanta una canción que dice: “mamma thank you for who I am, thank you for all the things I’m not”. Es muy cierto. Me atrevo a decir que mucha gente afirmaría que hoy está donde está gracias a su mamá.

Cada día que abro mi armario desordenado y no encuentro una camisa limpia, o abro la heladera y hay sólo una rodaja de pan; además de querer salir corriendo, quidiera agradecerle por todos los años que cocinó, lavó ropa y 100 etc de cosas que hizo por mí.

Las mamás han escrito libros, han ido a las Olimpiadas, han estudiado carreras largas como medicina. Muchas mamás lo hicieron como profesión por su puesto, pero hablo de genios que alcanzaron sus metas gracias a que después de un día duro de trabajo tenían la cena lista en casa. O esos deportistas que necesitaban que alguien los buscara después del entrenamiento, no sólo a ellos sino a todo el equipo. O esos estudiantes que se quedaban hasta tarde con amigos y necesitaban energía, sobre todo comida.

No esperés al año que viene para decirle cuanto la querés. Si vivís lejos de ella siempre podés estar en contacto. Llamala, escribile, mandale fotos en snapchat  (a las mamás les encanta tner fotos de sus bebés).

Leave a Reply

