Coral Reefs and Slenderness

LV RESORT15

Some people think that first impressions are of utmost importance. For me, first impressions are like book covers, you get a glimpse of what the book is about and what praises it gets, but you don’t really know if you like it or not until you get immersed in the story that it withholds.

So Ghesquière’s AW14 show for Louis Vuitton was the cover to this book, and Resort 2015 was the prologue. I have to admit, his second collection really engaged me. It absorbed me into an underwater world of coral reefs and slenderness. How could it not? There were models walking on water (who said fashion couldn’t defy gravity?) and colourful garments swaying in and out of the runway, as if swiftly pushed by the ocean waves. It was a relaxing voyage to a place of experimentation. Mix-matching prints, colours and materials were everywhere to be seen. The reinventing of silhouettes, genres, and pieces had its climax on that reversed off-the-shoulder top. My absolute favourite, however, were those super elegant, and elongating flare trousers in pastel pink and yellow! Yes, Yes, Yes! Need I say anything more about them?  

Hay quienes piensan que la primera impresión es extremedamente importante. Yo creo que las primeras impresiones son como la portada de un libro, te permiten atisbar de qué se trata el libro y el qué piensan otros de él. Sin embargo, para saber si realmente te gusta o no tienes que leerlo.

El show de Otoño/Invierno 2014 de Ghesquière para Louis Vuitton fue la portada del libro, y la colección Resort 2014, su prólogo. Tengo que admitir que la segunda colección realmente me cautivó. Me sumergió en un mundo subacuático de arrecifes coralinos y de elegancia ¿Cómo no iba a hacerlo, si las modelos parecían andar en el agua vestidas con piezas llenas de color que entraban y salían de la pasarela empujadas por el oleaje?  Fue un viaje relajante a un lugar de experimentación. Ghesquière presentó con maestría una mezcla casi incongruente, pero brillante, de estampados, colores y materiales. Además, su genio le empujó a combinar géneros y a reinventar siluetas y piezas hasta el punto de presentar una camisa off-the-shoulder con un twist único. En mi caso, la pieza que más me gustó fueron los estilizantes pantalones acampanados ¡Qué forma de lograr una silueta esbelta y elegante!   

LV RESORT15
LV RESORT15

Photographs from Harper's Bazaar 

Leave a Reply

