Oldschool Inspiration

web2

Throwbacks are fun. I enjoy flipping through pictures and reliving moments; old pictures that take me to happy places. I always gather something good out of them. A good feeling, a good resolution, a good laugh. Last time I flipped through my High School photos, I was unexpectedly inspired. Even though I was never a fashionable teenager, looking back at my friends and myself, I got the urge of wearing a kilt again. As ugly and unstylish as it seemed to me back then, I couldn’t help myself from coveting it now, and even more so as tartan is such a current trend. Precisely because of that, I thought that finding a cute mini kilt would be a piece of cake. But I was wrong. All my efforts were futile. Until one day, a friend of mine offered to pass on to me her old High School kilt. She said she had never worn it since after graduation and she definitely never would again. I was thrilled! One girl’s trash is another girl’s treasure! So I styled the old school kilt according to my own personal coordinates. I had put so much work into chasing after one, that wearing it felt just as exciting as a first day of school!

Me encanta hojear viejas fotografías, repasar los momentos y memorias capturadas. Siempre que lo hago, termino sacando algo bueno: un buen sentimiento, un buen propósito, una buena carcajada… Las imágenes me transportan a lugares felices y, en ocasiones, son una gran fuente de inspiración; como la última vez que estuve viendo mis fotos de secundaria. Es cierto que cuando era adolescente no tenía noción alguna de estilo o elegancia, pero el ver a mis amigas y a mí de uniforme me dio muchísimas ganas de volver a ponerme una falda escocesa. Y más aún cuando, casualmente, el tartán es una tendencia tan importante esta temporada. Por eso mismo, creí que encontrar una mini falda escocesa sería muy sencillo. Pero estaba equivocada. Todos mis muchos intentos fueron en vano; hasta que un día, una amiga, me ofreció su mismísima falda escolar. Mi amiga me aseguró que no había usado la prenda desde su graduación y que nunca más la volvería a usar. Encantada y fuera de mí, acepté la oferta. Después de tantos esfuerzos, cada vez que uso la falda escocesa, me lleno de emoción tal y como si se tratara de un primer día de colegio.

web

web3

web4

web5

web6

Photographs by Marielli Rodriguez

Headband (vincha): Aldo
Polo neck (Camisa): Zara
 Shoes (Zapatos): Jimmy Choo
 Watch (reloj): Montblanc

4 thoughts on “Oldschool Inspiration

Leave a Reply

